By | June 21, 2018




Kindle Edition Price: £0.00 Kindle unlimited                                                  Place to buy:                                                                                   My Rating:9.5/10







As you might have guessed, There is nothing I can really fault about this book, or indeed the series, which I think is a bit of a hidden gem.

I’d recommend it to anyone who likes good crime writing, I liked it a lot. But I get slightly anxious when I open a new book by my favorite author when it features a character I love. I can never be sure whether this will be a book that leaves me needing more or will it leave me cold.

I am glad to say that the former applies when it comes to Fire on the Fens. Again, Joy Ellis left me with a feeling of complete satisfaction.

This is a story, with a lot of twists and turns to keep you guessing, but not enough to stretch my credulity.



She was born in Kent and spent most of her working life in London and Surrey. She became an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the Sixties and Seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. It was an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! She swore then, that whilst she was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that one day she would have a shop It was not until the early Eighties, but she eventually did it. Sadly the economic climate wiped her out, and then she began on a series of weird and fascinating jobs; her last job was a bookshop manager. She was surrounded by books all day, she could order whatever she liked, and she was being paid for it! Oh, bliss! She was now lucky enough to have joined the amazing Joffe Books team of authors and she is really enjoying being able to spend time doing what I love… writing!

Joy now lives in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens, she has a partner, Jacqueline, and with second-generation Springer spaniels. She had been writing mystery books for years but could never find the time to take it seriously. Now that she can, and as her partner was a highly decorated retired police officer; her choice of genre was suddenly clear. She had set her crime thrillers in the misty fens because she loved the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. The area was steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder!


About the book…


Here, an arsonist is on the loose, one who doesn’t fit the normal profile but who, instead, is on a deadly mission, one that finds people trapped in burning buildings, unable to escape. A fire must be one of the scariest things to find yourself in and Ellis uses that to her advantage here, building the tension with each blaze. One of the things I like about her books is that they aren’t too gruesome. There is enough to create an image in my mind without making my skin crawl.

Then there’s Nikki, the central character, who is as wonderful as ever. Spicy enough to make her interest but not so spiky I find her unlikeable. It’s great to see her relationship develop with her friend and fellow detective Joseph, something I’ve been wanting to see for a while, though I have to say I would have liked to have seen more of her team. They’ve been front and center the last few books and here I felt they didn’t get enough of a look in apart from one. But the victims have led spotless lives and apparently, there’s no connection between them.

Meanwhile, the town is facing a very peculiar threat from a group of sinister Satanists led by a charismatic businessman.
Someone is lighting fires. First, they target homes and businesses, but then a body is found in one of the crime scenes. Who is burning with anger, and can Nikki stop them before anyone else dies?

By the time I get to book nine in a series, I am usually starting to flag. Characters have become too familiar, storylines too predictable, and the “wow” factor I had when I picked up the first book has long since gone.


The series so far:


DI Nikki Galena, the Fen Series:


Click here for Book One: Crime on the Fens

Click here for Book Two: Shadow over the Fens

Click here for Book Three: Hunted on the Fens

Click here for Book Four: Killer on the Fens

Click here for Book Five: Stalker on the Fens

Click here for Book Six: Captive on the Fens

Click here for Book Seven: Buried on the Fens

Click here for Book Eight: Thieves on the Fens


These are available in both Kindle and paperback and now Crime on the Fens, Shadow over the Fens and Hunted on the Fens are also available as audiobooks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *