By | August 21, 2018



Buy Now




I have been a serving UK police officer for ten years. During that time I have had many roles, starting as a frontline response officer, then a member of a specialist tactical team and I am currently a detective investigating the more serious offences. My books are a series of thrillers and, rather unsurprisingly, policing is central to the stories.


The central themes are greed, ambition, corruption and addiction. Characters from both sides of the law will fall foul to their respective temptations. I am inspired by what I do and see in my day-job as a police detective, though my books are entirely fictional. I am aware that the police officers in my books are not always show positively. They are human and they make mistakes. This can be the case in real life too, but the vast majority of officers are honest and do a job in trying circumstances. From what I see on a daily basis, the men and women who wear the uniform and among the very finest, and I am proud to be part of one of the best police forces in the world.


The books are set in the fictional town of Langthorne. This is typical of many smaller seaside towns dotted around the UK’s coastline. Once a thriving tourist destination, where the affluent built grand seafront houses, it has suffered a hard fall from grace. Unemployment has blighted the area and so has crime. Drugs are a big scene. Most UK seaside towns have a problem with them.


The Epping Hill estate (known by the locals as Effingell) was constructed in the 80s in response to a sudden demand for social housing and now it’s onto the third generation. Thirty years of crime, violence and desperation have become part of the very fabric of the estate.


A Little Insight


DETECTIVE GEORGE ELMS THOUGHT HE’D SEEN IT ALL, but he as never come UP AGAINST the SERIAL KILLER known as HENRY ‘THE BULL’ ROBERTS. Henry had a certain type of woman — they had to me young, with blonde hair, and very attractive. He is now three years into a life sentence. Two of his victims had never been found. But now that Henry Roberts is dying he wants to make a deal. He had wonted to be moved to a secure unit near the sea and in return he would tell the police where to find the other victims’ remains were hidden.


The offer is accepted and so Detective George Elms travels to the force who had led the original investigation. He was only the messenger. He discovered a police force and a community still in turmoil. As he is looking through the old case notes he makes a startling discovery that. Henry Roberts didn’t work alone.


Then out of the blue another woman goes missing and she fits the profile of the other victims, even the circumstances of her disappearance was identical to the others,— she had never made it from train to her car.


When a second woman goes missing. George is now convinced the two cases are linked. George recalls something Henry Roberts had told him, when he had visited him in prison that two is better because “you could make the other one watch.”


As time is running out for George. He knows that Henry Roberts knows who the other man is or should be chasing, but can he help before he takes his last breath?


The books of the Langthorne Series:


(The first three novels of the Langthorne series were previously available as (1) ‘A Glorious Sadness, (2) ‘No Miracles and (3) ‘Watch Me Burn’. They have been completely revised for publication by Joffe Books.)


Book 1 – Bodily Harm
Book 2 – Panic Button
Book 3 – Blood Money
Book 4 – End Game


Standalone Books:


Missing (George Elms 5)
Then She Ran (George Elms 6)
Her Last Breath (George Elms 7)




All of is books are Thrillers, and the storylines all revolve around policing, which is the main theme, he covers greed, ambition, corruption, along with addiction, and the characters come from both sides of the law, and all fall foul of their temptations.
The inspiration he has comes from is day to day job as a police detective, but they are totally fictional and do not reflect on all members of the police force.



What people think


I’ve read all of Charlie’s books and thoroughly enjoyed every one. Being a serving copper, he draws on actual experiences, good and bad. His characters are no too complex; they are either basically good but bend the rules a bit, or out and out scum bags who you hope come to a deserved and painful end. Her last breath doesn’t disappoint. Out and out scum bags, “respectable” scum bags, and not right in the head scum bags. The main character, Detective George Elms is totally believable and for those who like well written UK crime stories that doesn’t go into the ins and outs of a cats arse explaining in detail why the scumbags are scum bags, and why the good guys are good. The bent coppers in some of the books are totally realistic and that’s based on knowing quite a few from my youth in East London. I recommend reading the entire Langthorne series. Once youve read the first, you cant wait for the next. I took a punt on the first, Bodily Harm and then had to wait unt Panic Button was published. You can buy these along with Blood Money as a set. Cant recommend this geezer Charlie enough!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *