The Sister: A psychological thriller by Louise Jensen

By | August 21, 2018

 

 

 

Buy Now

 

Biography

Louise lives with her husband, children, madcap dog and a rather naughty cat in Northamptonshire. She loves to hear from readers and writers and can be found at www.louisejensen.co.uk, where she regularly blogs flash fiction and writing tips.

Louise Jensen is a Global No.1 Bestselling author of psychological thrillers The Sister, The Gift, The Surrogate & The Date. Louise has sold over a million English Language books and her novels have been sold for translation to twenty territories, as well as being featured on the USA Today and Wall Street Journal Bestseller’s List. Louise was nominated for the Good reads Debut Author of 2016 Award & The Guardian’s Not the Booker 2018. The Gift has been optioned for a TV film.

When I began writing The Sister, I would perch on the end of my bed, iPad balanced on knee, for the half an hour each night when my son had independent reading time. Writing was my way to unwind, the way I fought clinical depression after suddenly acquiring a disability and chronic pain. As time marched on and my short story grew and grew I hesitantly invested in a second hand laptop, feeling horribly guilty, in the way most mother’s do, for spending money on myself rather than the kids.

When she was little she was obsessed by Enid Blyton. Those characters were so real to her they became her friends. I often huddled under my covers, stifling my yawns and straining my eyes, as I read ‘just one more page’ by torchlight.

Mr Townsend, Louise’s primary school English teacher gave her lots of encouragement for her love of literature, it wasn’t long before she had read everything her school had to offer. When she was younger she created a six page long book, it had stick-man illustrations and she had sellotaped together. She was immensely proud of it. Writing had been a huge part of her life, until one day it wasn’t.

I can’t remember ever making a conscious decision to stop writing but it became easier to act on the advice I was given – ‘grow up and get a proper job’ – and my dreams were tightly packed away, gathering dust for the next twenty years.

Her thirties were a car crash. Literally. She had sustained injuries which when coupled with a pre-existing condition forced her to radically change my lifestyle. I felt utterly lost and utterly alone. Always an avid reader I began to devour books at an alarming rate. ‘You’ll have read every book in here soon,’ my local librarian said. ‘You’ll have to write your own.’

And there was a flicker, a shift, a rising of hope. I grasped that nugget of possibility and I wrote. I wrote when I was happy. I wrote when I was sad. I wrote when I was scared and in-between writing, I read, read and read some more. Words have the power to lift, to heal. They have illuminated my world, which for a time became very dark.

It became clear, when I wrapped up the tale of Grace and Charlie at 90k words that it was a book but it was only after many weeks, and truth be told, many glasses of wine, I felt brave enough to send it out and luckily it got picked up quite quickly.

It was then the whirlwind started.

As Anne Frank said ‘I can shake off everything as I write; my sorrows disappear, my courage is reborn.’

The Story

Grace wasn’t the same when her best best friend Charlie. She had been haunted by the last thing Charlie had said the last time she saw her, and she needs answers, then she opened a old memory box belonging to Charlie. It had become clear that there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

So Grace decides to start a campaign to track down Charlie’s father. Anna, is a girl who was claiming to be Charlie’s sister appears. For Grace, finding Anna was like finding a new member of the family, and soon after Anna began to make herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something seemed not quite right. Things began to disappear, then Dan began acting strangely, also Grace is convinced someone is following her. Is this all in Grace’s mind? Or is it that Grace was getting closer to finding out the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie . . . Or was there?

With No Past.

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and The Girl

What people are saying about The Sister:

‘I was gripped to The Sister from the first page until the very end. I thought I had it all worked out until I was proven sooo wrong.’ Robert Bryndza

‘I could not put this book down. I neglected all the house work and put off cooking dinner until I was finished… I loved every page.’ Renee Reads

‘My eyes were racing down the pages… had me guessing right up to the very end and I had tears in my eyes as I relived Charlie’s last moments…

exceptional… It’s an addictive page-turner that begs time and again for just one more chapter until the whole book has been devoured and thoroughly enjoyed.’ The Book Magnet

‘Wow! What an amazing debut novel! Full of intense twists! Fantastic book to start off summer reading! Highly recommend.’ Loud and Proud Book Junkie, 5 stars

‘I loved this book, it grabbed me right from the beginning.’ Beady Jans Books

‘I genuinely struggled to put this book down… I can’t recommend this book enough, it’s made it to

‘I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me . . .’

Conclusion

The “Sisters” is Louise’s first novel a psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. For a author who reached number one in the bestseller list with her first novel is some feat, and it tells you how good this book is. The “Sisters” has been published in Spanish and is called “LA HERMANA”, and the Italian is called “LA SORELLA”. This is a must read.

3 thoughts on “The Sister: A psychological thriller by Louise Jensen

  1. Reyhana

    Louise sounds like a very engaging writer. Her story sounds really nice too. I love stories that have a little bit of mystery and suspense. This definitely sounds like a book to add to my bookshelf. You give out so many good books to read that I will have a hard time choosing which one to start with. There can never be too many books to read though, right?

    Reply
    1. john bicknell

      Quite right books are the spice of life. Thanks for your comments

      Reply
  2. Lucas

    Personally, I prefer reading books with a bit of suspense because I’m too much of a chicken to experience the actual movie. Thanks for introducing the sister. From the description you’ve given, I’m guessing Anna is the sister mentioned in the title? Would be pretty creepy if she turned out to be some psycho killer or something. 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *